AUC Libraries
Off-Campus Access (Proxy Server)

The proxy server allows authorized AUC library users to access selected databases, online journals, e-books, and other library resources and services from any Internet connection, regardless of location.

How does it work?

If you are attempting to access one of these tools from off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your name and barcode from the back of your AUC ID card. Once you do so you will be connected to the database or tool that you selected. .

To access a database from off-campus, go to the Find Articles Web page and select a database:

Find Articles

Are all of the library databases available off-campus?

Due to licensing restrictions, not all of the library databases are available from off-campus. The vast majority of the databases, however, are available from off-campus via the proxy server. For more information, see the list of library databases by name at the following location:

http://www.aucegypt.edu/Pages/default.aspx

Those databases that are not available from off-campus are indicated by the <off campus graphic> or <library use only graphic> icons. These tools may be accessed from within the campus network or the library itself only.

Can I access e-books from off-campus also?

Yes, several of our e-book vendors allow access from off-campus via the proxy server. For a list of library e-book resources, see the following Web site:

E-Book Resources

How do I know if I'm an 'authorized user'?

The Library's licence agreements with the various database vendors enable us to offer remote access via the proxy server to the following categories of users:

  • AUC Undergraduate and Graduate Students (current*)
  • AUC Faculty (current*)
  • AUC Full-time Staff
  • CACE Full-time Faculty

* Current in the above context means having a currently valid AUC/Library ID card. The barcode number form the back of the ID card will be required each time you access these tools from off-campus.

Due to licensing restrictions, the library can not provide off-campus access to the following categories of users:

  • AUC Part-time Staff
  • CACE part-time Staff
  • CACE Students
  • Visitors
  • Alumni
  • Faculty Spouses

On-campus access is still available for the above patrons.

How do I get help if I'm having trouble accessing from off-campus?

If you have a problem accessing any of the library's electronic resources, send an email to eResources@aucegypt.edu. Always include the URL, and an explanation of what you did before access was blocked or denied. If possible, include in the email a screen shot of the webpage. We need to know the link you clicked or the URL you used to access the resource, and the exact details that displayed as a result.

back to top