Information Please Almanac
Compendium of up-to-date facts and figures
American National Biography (AUC Only)
Biography on A&E
Includes notable people from Egypt
IPL Ready Reference: Biographies
An extensive collection of online biographical sources compiled by IPL (Internet public Library)
Business.com
Search engine and directory
Business Week Online
Online version of Business Week Magazine
GlobalEDGE
"Created by the Center for International Business Education and Research at Michigan State University (MSU-CIBER), globalEDGET is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities. " (from web site)
Hoover's Online
Search by company. Ignore the gold key pages. These are only for subscribers.
Industry Research Desk: Industry Portals
You can search the web by industries.
International Addresses and Salutations
NAICS Codes
North American Industry Classification System
Red Herring
Information on stocks, funds, indices
General Career Information
CAPS (Career Advising and Placement Services - AUC)
Occupational Outlook Handbook 2002-2003 (US Dept of Labor)
Job Postings:
Career MidEast (Middle East)
Recruitment Center (American Chamber of Commerce in Egypt)
AP Stylebook Online Edition *On-Campus Use Only
Contains more than 5,000 entries laying out the Associated Press' rules on grammar, spelling, punctuation, and usage for news writing.
APA: Commonly Asked Questions
Questions and answers about citing electronic materials using APA Style 5th edition
Citation Machine
An interactive web tool for creating citations in MLA, APA styles.
MLA: Frequently Asked Questions
Questions and answers about citing materials using the MLA Style 6th edition
Online: a Reference Guide to Using Internet Sources (Bedford/St.Martins)
Citation style guides for electronic resources(APA, MLA, Chicago, CBE)
Research and Documentation Online (Diana Hacker)
Citation style guides for print and electronic resources (MLA, APA, Chicago, CBE)
Directory of American Universities (University of Florida)
Egypt: Colleges and Universities
International Colleges and Universities - (Petersons)
Online Conversion
Convert measurements, distances, temperatures and more
Copyright & Fair Use (Stanford University)
Country Studies/Area Handbooks
"This website contains the on-line versions of books previously published in hard copy by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook." (from web site)
Economist Country Briefings
News, country profiles, forecasts, statistics
Middle East Network Information Center (MENIC)
"The objective of UT International Network Information Systems is to provide international users with access to academic databases and information services worldwide, and to provide area studies scholars around the world with access to information on and from the regions covered by different Centers." (from web site)
Nation Master
An extensive resource for statistics and maps. Customize statistics, maps and graphical tables by selecting the countries you want to compare; includes an integrated encyclopedia.
PAIR: Portal to Asian Internet Resources
"Offers scholars, students and the interested public more than six thousand professionally selected, cataloged and annotated online resources." (from web site)
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) (AUC only)
Oxford Reference Online (AUC only)
This database brings together some 100 Oxford University Press dictionaries and reference titles in a single searchable interface, containing more than 1.5 million dictionary definitions.
Thesaurus.com (Source: Rogets)
Your Dictionary.com
The most comprehensive and authoritative online dictionary portal with links to hundreds of dictionaries, including over 200 language dictionaries (including Arabic), specialized dictionaries in over 70 different subject areas, grammar pages for many languages, and much more.
Arabic-English and English-Arabic Dictionaries
Dictionary of Islamic Philosophical Terms
Adobe Acrobat Document
Based on the printed text: Dictionary of Muslim Philosophy" by Prof. M. Saeed Sheikh.
Ectaco Online Dictionaries: Arabic-English and English-Arabic
Sakhr Multilingual Dictionary
Translates between Arabic, English, French, German, Turkish
Your Dictionary.com: Listing of Arabic Dictionaries
California Digital Library's E-scholarship Editions
Access to digital texts and monographs, including more than 1,400 UC Press titles. A significant number of the electronic books are available for free to the public
History E-Books (AUC Only)
Collection of nearly 800 books considered to be of major importance to historical studies
Online books page (University of Pennsylvania)
A listing of over 20,000 FREE books on the Web compiled by the University of Pennsylvania Library.
Project Gutenberg
The Internet's oldest producer of FREE electronic books in the public domain. Search or browse by author or title.
American Chamber of Commerce in Egypt
Egypt and Middle East News Links
Egypt State Information Service (SIS)
Government Online (Egypt)
Green Business Guide (Egypt)
Information and Decision Support Center (Egyptian Cabinet)
Libraries with Middle East collections on the Internet
OACIS Middle East Database (Yale University)
United Nations in Egypt
USAID Egypt
Britannica Online (AUC only)
This is the electronic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica and Britannica Book of the Year.
Columbia Encyclopedia 6th edition 2001 (Bartleby.com)
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Amnesty International
Forced Migration Online (FMO)
"Online resources dealing with the situation of forced migrants worldwide." (from web site)
Human Rights Watch (HRW)
International Thesaurus of Refugee Terminology (UNHCR)
RefLink (UNHCR)
"A compilation of some 300 links to generally regarded "reliable" internet sources" (from web site)
RefWorld Online (UNHCR)
Available here is a collection of databases "containing Country of Origin Information (COI) and Legal Information (which) have been compiled by UNHCR and consist of carefully selected reports and documents."
UNHCR (UN Refugee Agency)
Amnesty International Europa (European Union Online)
ILO (International Labour Organization)
IMF (International Monetary Fund)
UN (United Nations)
UNDP (United Nations Development Programme)
UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization)
UNICEF (United Nations Children's Fund)
WHO (World Health Organization)
WTO (World Trade Organization)
Avalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy
A comprehensive collection of digital documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy, and government. The collection encompasses all time periods, from B.C. to the 21st century, and all regions of the world. The collection is searchable by subject, keywords, and official titles as well as the common names of documents.
FindLaw
Internet legal resources
Internet Legal resource Guide
A categorized index of more than 4000 select web sites in 238 nations, islands, and territories.
Project Diana: An Online Human Rights Archive at Yale Law School
Collection includes: Documents of legal cases involving human rights issues; United Nations documents; Laws of War; Yale Human Rights & Development Law Journal (full text of articles available)
Al-Tashriaat Al-Misriyyah (AUC Only)
Ask at the Main Library Information Desk for access instructions
United Nations Treaty Collection (AUC Only)
Libraries, Archives and Museums
Bibliotheca Alexandrina
Egyptian Libraries Network (Union catalog and directory)
Internet Archive
"A digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form." (from web site) Search their archive to find web sites no longer online. Includes audio, images, and texts.
Library of Congress (US)
Libraries on the web: USA Academic Libraries (Berkeley Digital Library)
Repositories of primary sources
Virtual Library museums page
Directory of online museums
Middle East Maps
This site, hosted at Dartmouth, has over 45 historical/political maps related to the Middle East
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
University of Texas' collection of worldwide maps
Search Engines and Web Directories
Google (search engine and directory - can limit your search to images, groups, news)
Try the advanced search for more search options and limits
LII (Librarian's Index to the Internet)
Open Directory Project (dmoz)
Search Engine Showdown
Comparison and analysis of search engines, includes reviews
Search Engine Watch
Directory of search engines, includes reviews and news about search engines
Vivisimo (metasearch engine - uses document clustering)
Searches MSN, Netscape, Lycos, Looksmart, Overture, BBC, LII, CNN, New York Times, USAToday, Reuters, CBC, Washington Post, BBCNews, YahooNews, YahooBizNews, YahooSportNews, Union Tribune, PBS, FirstGov, Business, ebay, ebayFull, Britannica, Delphion, PubMed. Use the Advanced Search for more limits and options.
HighWire
"HighWire Press is a division of the Stanford University Libraries, which produces the online versions of high-impact, peer-reviewed journals and other scholarly content. HighWire Press hosts the largest repository of free full-text life science articles in the world, with more than 600,000 free, full-text articles online. (from web site).
Links for Chemists
From the WWW Virtual Library
Science.gov
This is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government
Scirus: for scientific information only
A comprehensive science-specific search engine. Locates scientific, technical, and medical data on the Web, including research reports, peer-reviewed articles and journals, university sites, and scientists' homepages.
Visual Elements Periodic Table
Official Information
ELPET (English Language Proficiency Entrance Test - AUC requirement)
GMAT (Graduate Management Admission Test)
GRE (Graduate Record Examination)
LSAT (Law School Admission Test)
Free Preparation Sites
GRE: Test preparation materials
Free sample test and links to other preparation materials
Test Preparation Links (K.St Internet Search Engine)
Links to test preparation sites for GMAT, GRE, LSAT, SAT and more ...
Number2.com
Free test preparation tutorials for SAT, ACT, GRE, plus a vocabulary builder (registration required)
Princeton Review Online Demo
One sample full length test for SAT, GMAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT (registration required)
Directories
Egypt and Middle East
CAPMAS (AUC Only)
Ask at the Main Library Information Desk for access instructions
United States
Nation Master
An extensive resource for statistics and maps, organized mainly by country, but also by topics. Customize statistics, maps and graphical tables by selecting the countries you want to compare; includes an integrated encyclopedia.
How to evaluate a web page (Colorado State University Libraries)
How to evaluate online primary resources (U. Washington)
Stanford Guidelines for Web Credibility
Part of the Web Credibility Project.

