American Studies

Finding Articles | Background Information | Facts & Figures | People & Organizations |AUC Departments & Resources | Literature & Film

Finding Articles

Note: Most databases are restricted for use by Authorized AUC Users. Click here for information about off-campus access.

America: History and Life
Abstracts and indexes over 2,000 international journals, book and media reviews, and related dissertations on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. 1964 - present.

CQ Researcher
In-depth analysis reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day.

CQ Weekly
A source for expert coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. 1983 - present.


Academic Search Premier
Extensive multi-disciplinary database indexing over 8,000 general and peer-reviewed publications.

CIAO – Columbia International Affairs Online *On-Campus Use Only
Comprehensive source for research of issues in international affairs. Includes working papers from research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, journals and policy briefs.

JSTOR
Full text of important scholarly journals, excluding those from the last 2-5 years

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe *On-Campus Use Only
International news sources, government & political news, and legal news.

PAIS International
Multi-lingual international database indexing public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.

Project Muse
Over 200 full-text scholarly journals on humanities, social sciences and arts.

back to top

Background Information (including primary sources)

CQ Electronic Encyclopedia of American Government
Excellent resource for facts about United States Congress, Presidency, Supreme Court, and the U.S. election process. Contains over 1,200 articles and more than 600 illustrations.

CQ’s Public Affairs Collection
Public policy content organized by 22 key topics. Historic documents, treaties, and other primary source materials. Statistical overviews, directory contact information, and in-depth reporting on current affairs.

The Oxford Guide to the United States Government (Oxford Reference Online)
Authoritative information on the American Presidency, Congress, and Supreme Court.

The Oxford Companion to United States History (Oxford Reference Online)
Contains over 1,400 entries on America's political, diplomatic, and military history, as well as social, cultural, and intellectual trends; science, technology, and medicine; the arts; and religion. Print version: Main Reference E174 .O94 2001

Encyclopedia of American History –Main Reference E174 .E53 2003
10-volume reference to the most important individuals, events, and topics in U.S. history from the 15th century to the present

American Decades: Primary Sources –Main Reference E169.1 .A471997 2004
Primary sources from 1900 - 1999 covering the arts; business and economy; education; fashion and design; government and politics; law and justice; lifestyles and social trends; media; medicine and health; religion; science and technology; sports.

The Library of Congress American Memory Project

Guide to United States Popular Culture –Main Reference E169.1 .D399 2001

Religion and American Cultures: an Encyclopedia of Traditions, Diversity, and Popular Expressions –Main Reference BL2525 .K448 2003
Entries on ethnicity, institutions, and religious themes. Includes primary documents.

Encyclopedia of American Immigration –Main Reference JV6465 .E53 2001
Entries on immigration history, issues, groups, and documents.

Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy –Main Reference E183.7 .E52 2002

Arab American Encyclopedia –Main Reference E184 .A65 A48 200

back to top

Facts & Figures

Use the AUC Library’s Guide to Statistical Sources to locate additional statistical data.

Statistical Abstract of the United States –Main Reference HA202 .U8x
Summary of statistics on the economic, political, and social organization of the U.S. This annual publication began in 1981.

Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 1957 –Main Reference HA202 .A385 1960
Statistics on all aspects of American life compiled by the Bureau of Census.

U.S. Census Bureau

A Comprehensive source for demographic, social, and economic data.

Facts About the Congress –Main Reference JK1021 .C48 1996
Facts about leadership; organization and administration; major legislation passed; failed legislation; relations with the president; nominations, appointments and confirmations; impeachment; constitutional amendments. Covers the 1st Congress (1787-1791) to the 104th Congress, 1st Session (1995-1996).

Famous First Facts About American Politics –Main Reference E183 .A64 2001
Covers memorable "firsts" in elections, public figures, political parties, legislation, and administrations.

Encyclopedia of American Facts and Dates –Main Reference E174.5 .C3 1997

Routledge Atlas of American History –Main Reference G3701.S1 G55 2003

People & Organizations

American National Biography
Biographical profiles of more than 18,000 notable Americans from 1700s to the present.

American Leaders 1789 - 1994: A Biographical Summary –Main Reference E176 .A59 1994
Information on Presidents, Cabinet Members, Supreme Court Justices, Members of Congress, and Governors.

American Statesmen: Secretaries of State from John Jay to Colin Powel –Main Reference E176 .A596 2004

Women of Congress: A Twentieth-Century Odyssey –Main Reference E747 .K37 1996

Arab American Biography –Main Reference E184 .A65 H35 1999

back to top

AUC Departments & Resources

American Studies (minor)

Literature & Film

Literature Resource Center *On-Campus Use Only
Full-text biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors and their works from every age and literary discipline.

The Chronology of American Literature: America's Literary Achievements from the Colonial Era to Modern Times –Main Reference PS94 .C48 2004
Covers the major stages in American literary history: Colonial Period, Nationalism and Romanticism, Realism and Naturalism, Birth of Modernism, Modernism and Postmodernism.

American Women Writers: a Critical Reference Guide from Colonial Times to the Present –Main Reference PS147 .A42 2000

The Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance –Main Reference PS153 .N5 A24 2003

Modern Black Writers –Main Reference PN841 .M58 2000

Native American Literatures: an Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and Themes –Main Reference PS153 .I52 W47 1999

Asian American Literature: Reviews and Criticism of Works by American Writers of Asian Descent –Main Reference PS153 .A84 A82 1999

The New Historical Dictionary of the American Film Industry –Main Reference PN1993.5 .U6 S539 1998
Covers American producing and leasing companies, technical innovations, industry terms, studios, genres, and organizations.

The Encyclopedia of Westerns –Main Reference PN1995.9.W4 F27 2003

Blacks in American Films and Television: an Encyclopedia –Main Reference PN1995.9 N4 B58 1988

Encyclopedia of American Radio, 1920-1960 –Main Reference PN1991.2 .S57 2000

back to top