Anthropology & Archaeology

Finding Articles | Background Information | Facts & Figures | People & Organizations | AUC Departments & Resources

Finding Articles

Note: Most databases are restricted for use by Authorized AUC Users. Click here for information about off-campus access.

The Anthropological Index Online (Free Web Access)
Index to articles in current periodicals in the Museum of Mankind Library (incorporating the former Royal Anthropological Institute Library). 1970 – present.

Anthropological Literature –Main Library Ground Floor Indexes GN1 .A745x

Sociological Abstracts
Covers sociology and related disciplines, including culture and social structure. 1963 – present.

JSTOR
Full text of important scholarly journals, excluding those from the last 2-5 years.
List of Anthropology journals in JSTOR | List of Archaeology journals in JSTOR


Academic Search Premier
Covers the social sciences, humanities, education and most other major fields of academic study. Some full text. 1965 – present.

Project Muse
Over 200 scholarly journals on humanities, social sciences and arts.
List of Anthropology journals in Project Muse

LLBA (Linguistic and Language Behavior Abstracts)
Covers all aspects of the study of language, including linguistic anthropology. 1973 – present.

PAIS International
Multi-lingual international database indexing public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.

Project Muse
Over 200 full-text scholarly journals on humanities, social sciences and arts.

back to top

Background Information

Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology –Main Reference GN307 .E522 1996
Broad coverage of contemporary social and cultural anthropological issues.

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology –Main Reference GN307 .E52 1996
Compendium of knowledge relevant to cultural anthropology with some coverage of linguistics, biological anthropology, and archaeology.

Encyclopedia of World Cultures –Main Reference GN307 .E53 1991
Comprehensive descriptions on all of the cultures in each region of the world.

The Oxford Companion to Archaeology (Oxford Reference Online)
Comprehensive treatment of world archaeology. Also available in print: Main Reference CC70 .O96 1996

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution –Main Reference GN281 .C345 1992
Covers the subject from archaeology to zoology, genetics to linguistics.

History of Physical Anthropology: An Encyclopedia –Main Reference GN50.3 .H57 1997
Includes biographical sketches and bibliographies

back to top

Facts & Figures

The Dictionary of Anthropology –Main Reference GN307 .D485 1997
Guide to concepts, theories, and approaches primarily in the field of cultural and social anthropology.

Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology –Main Reference GN307 .W56 1991
Key ideas in cultural anthropology.

Dictionary of Concepts in Archaeology –Main Reference CC70 .M45 1993
Key concepts in archaeology.

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology (Oxford Reference Online)
Covers the essential vocabulary for archaeological work, including principles, theories, techniques, artifacts, materials, people, places, monuments, equipment, and descriptive terms.

Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology –Main Reference GN50.3 .S74 1991
Key concepts in physical anthropology.

People & Organizations

Women Anthropologists: A Biographical Dictionary –Main Reference GN20 .W63 1988

Encyclopedia of Archaeology: The Great Archaeologists –Main Reference CC110 .E54 1999
58 biographical entries of archaeologists who made a major contribution to the development of archaeology as a discipline.

American Anthropological Association

back to top

AUC Departments & Resources

SAPE: Sociology, Anthropology, Psychology and Egyptology

back to top