Engineering

Finding Articles | Background Information | Facts & Figures | People & Organizations | AUC Departments & Resources

Finding Articles

Note: Most databases are restricted for use by Authorized AUC Users. Click here for information about off-campus access.

ACM Digital Library
Association for Computing Machinery. Over 31,000 full-text articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings. *Note: AUC Libraries has access to the full-text of the journals, magazines and transactions, but NOT the proceedings or SIG Newsletter.

Annual Reviews
Provides critical reviews, written by leading scientists, of the most significant primary research literature in a wide range of disciplines.

Compendex (Engineering Village 2)
Internet version of Engineering Index, the premier source of engineering abstracts. Abstracts come from 5,000 engineering journals, conferences, and reports.

Intute's E-Journal search engine
Search the content of over 250 freely available full-text engineering, mathematics and computing ejournals, selected for relevance and quality. Academic journals, trade publications and society journals are covered.

IEEE All-Society Periodicals Package(ASPP)
Contains a core collection of engineering, electronics, and computer science periodicals, including 128 IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) Society-sponsored journals and magazines. NOTE: Transactions and conference proceedings are not available as full-text.

ProQuest Science Journals
Abstracts and full-text articles from leading science and technology journals. Coverage includes aeronautics, engineering (chemical, electrical, mechanical, nuclear), computer technology, physics, telecommunications, transportation and more. 1994 - present.

Science Direct
ScienceDirect is an online database for scientific research that contains the full text of approximately 1,900 Elsevier Science journals mainly in the fields of science, technology, and medicine.

Technology & Engineering Journals from DOAJ
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) is an online service offering online access to free, full-text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.

ABI/Inform Global
Indexes over 6,000 business, management, and industry publications. Includes engineering and engineering management topics.

Academic Search Premier
Extensive multi-disciplinary database indexing over 8,000 general and peer-reviewed publications. Engineering and computing topics are included.

Emerald Full Text
Abstracts and full-text articles from journals published by MCB University Press. Includes Mechanical, Electrical, and Electronic Engineering. Abstracts 1989 - present; Full Text 1994 - present.

back to top

Background Information

ASTM Standards Source *On-Campus Use Only
All current ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) standards. Also includes full-text of journals published by ASTM International: Cement, Concrete and Aggregates, Geotechnical Testing Journal, Journal of Composites Technology and Research, Journal of Forensic Sciences, and Journal of Testing and Evaluation.

EFunda: Engineering Fundamentals
Quick access to basic theories, formulas, calculations
Collections include: Materials | Design | Processes | Units | Formulas | Math

Oxford Reference Online: Computing
Access: Dictionary of Computing | Dictionary of the Internet | Dictionary of Weights, Measures, and Units

Intute: Science, Engineering & Technology
Access to Web resources evaluated and selected by a network of subject specialists. Covers the physical sciences, engineering, computing, geography, mathematics and environmental science.

Scirus
Specialized search engine for finding reliable science-related information on the Web

back to top

Facts & Figures

ASTM Standards Source *On-Campus Use Only
All current ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials) standards. Also includes full-text of journals published by ASTM International: Cement, Concrete and Aggregates, Geotechnical Testing Journal, Journal of Composites Technology and Research, Journal of Forensic Sciences, and Journal of Testing and Evaluation.

Spon’s Middle East Construction Cost Handbook -Main Reference TH435 .S72565 2000
Detailed guide to the cost of construction work in 13 countries across the Middle East

People & Organizations

ACM (Association for Computing Machinery)

ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers)

IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers)

ASME (American Society Of Mechanical Engineers)

ASTM (American Society for Testing and Materials)

back to top

AUC Departments & Resources

Construction Engineering

Electronics Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Interdisciplinary Engineering Graduate Program

back to top