Gender & Women's Studies

Finding Articles | Background Information | Facts & Figures | People & Organizations | AUC Departments & Resources | Egyptian and Arab Women

Finding Articles

Note: Most databases are restricted for use by Authorized AUC Users. Click here for information about off-campus access.

Siyanda (free Web access)
Online database of gender and development materials.

Women's Human Rights Resources (free Web access)
Includes online database of articles, documents and links related to international women's rights law or the domestic application of international women's rights law. Some full text.

JSTOR
Full text of important scholarly journals, excluding those from the last 2-5 years.

Project Muse
Over 200 full-text scholarly journals on humanities, social sciences and arts.
List of Women's Studies journals

Sociological Abstracts
Covers sociology and related disciplines, including culture and social structure. 1963 – present.

Academic Search Premier
Extensive multi-disciplinary database indexing over 8,000 general and peer-reviewed publications. Engineering and computing topics are included.

Alternative Press Archive
Indexes alternative/radical periodicals, magazines and newspapers from 1969-1990.

back to top

Background Information

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women–Main Reference HQ1115 .R69 2000
Comprehensive and scholarly encyclopedia.

Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories –Main Reference HQ1190 .E63 2000

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide –Main Reference HQ1115 .G74 2003
Six-volume set: The Middle East & North Africa, Asia and Oceania, Central & South America, Europe, North American and the Caribbean, Sub-Saharan Africa. Each country entry covers education, employment, family and sexuality, health, politics and law, religion, and violence.

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender –Main Reference HQ1115.E539 2001
Comprehensive coverage of current research and scholarship on the psychology of women and gender.

Men and Masculinities: a Social, Cultural, and Historical Encyclopedia –Main Reference HQ1090.3 .M436 2004

Women in the Third World: an Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues –Main Reference HQ1870.9 .W6548 1998

Routledge Companion to Feminism and Postfeminism –Main Reference HQ115 .R68 2001
Part I Feminism: it’s History and Cultural Context; Part II A-Z of Key Themes and Major Figures

back to top

Facts & Figures

GenderStats (World Bank)
Online database of gender statistics and indicators. Data sources include national statistics, United Nations databases, and World Bank-conducted or funded surveys.

Gender Statistics Database (UNECE)
Statistics for Europe and North America. Topics include: population, families and households, work and the economy, education, public life and decision making, health, crime and violence.

WomenWatch: Statistics and Indicators (UN)
Collection of statistics and indicators from the United Nations.

Statistical Record of Women Worldwide –Main Reference HQ1150 .S73 1995
Compilation of tables from U.S. and international sources on attitudes and opinions, business and economics, crime, domestic life, education, health, income and employment, the military, vital statistics, religion, sexuality, and sports.

People & Organizations

International Who's Who of Women –Main Reference CT3235 .I58

American National Biography
Biographical profiles of more than 18,000 notable Americans from 1700s to the present.

Chronology of Women’s History –Main Reference HQ1121 .O47 1994
Worldwide chronology of women’s lives from prehistory to early 1990s.

Larousse Dictionary of Women –Main Reference CT3202 .L37 1996
Coverage focuses on 19th and 20th century women in the Western world.

United Nations Development Fund for Women (UNIFEM)

back to top

AUC Departments and Resources

IGWS: Institute of Gender and Women's Studies

back to top

Egyptian and Arab Women

Arab Women, Trends, Statistics and Indicators –Main Reference HQ1784 .A1 A7 1995

Arab Women in ESCWA Member States: Statistics, Indicators and Trends –Main Reference HQ1726.5 .A47 1994
[Title and some text in Arabic]=al-Mar’ah al-‘Arabiyah fi al-duwal al-a‘da’ fi al-Iskuwa: ihsa’at wa-mu’ashshirat wa-ittijahat.

Women and Men in Egypt: a Statistical Portrait –Main Reference Cupboard HQ1793 .W66 2003

Arab Human Development Report –Main Reference Cupboard HN766 .A85 A72

Egypt: Human Development Report –Main Reference Cupboard HC830 .A1 E5

Gender and Development in the Middle East and North Africa: Women in the Public Sphere –Main Library & Social Research Center HQ1240.5 .M628 G456 2004

Progress of Arab Women: one paradigm, four arenas, and more than 140 million women (United Nations Development Fund for Women) –Social Research Center HQ1784 .S43 2004

AUC Social Research Center
Resource Sites: Economic Participation of Women in Egypt | Globalization and its Impact on Women in Egypt |
Macro-Economic Policies and their Impact on Women in Egypt

United Nations Development Fund for Women / Arab States Regional Office
Publications and documents (some in English and Arabic) concerning women's issues in 17 Arab countries: Bahrain, Egypt, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Palestine, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, the United Arab Emirates, Yemen, Morocco, Tunisia, Libya and Algeria.

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide –Main Reference HQ1115 .G74 2003
Volume 4: The Middle East & North Africa

back to top