Finding Articles | Background Information | Facts & Figures | People & Organizations | AUC Departments & Resources
Note: Most databases are restricted for use by Authorized AUC Users. Click here for information about off-campus access.
CIAO – Columbia International Affairs Online *On-Campus Use Only
Comprehensive source for research of issues in international affairs. Includes working papers from research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, journals and policy briefs.
Academic Search Premier
Extensive multi-disciplinary database indexing over 8,000 general and peer-reviewed publications.
JSTOR
Full text of important scholarly journals, excluding those from the last 2-5 years.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe *On-Campus Use Only
International news sources, government & political news, and legal news.
PAIS International
Multi-lingual international database indexing public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.
Project Muse
Over 200 full-text scholarly journals on humanities, social sciences and arts. Some sociology titles are included.
ZAD (Arabic Press Index)
Full text articles from more than 700 Arabic newspapers and magazines. Includes business news. 1998 - present.
Background Information (including treaties,legal documents, and other primary sources)
Human Rights Internet
Comprehensive collection of human rights material derived from independent, grassroots NGOs around the globe. NOTE: If prompted for a password, please ask at the Main Library Reference Desk.
United Nations Treaty Collection
Includes three databases: Status of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General; the United Nations Treaty Series, and the Depository Notifications of the Secretary-General Also contains texts of recently deposited multilateral treaties (which have not yet been published), photographs of signature ceremonies, and titles in the UN official languages.
Project Diana: Online Human Rights Archive
Collection of cases and documents dealing with human rights. Also provides online access to the Yale Human Rights and Development Law Journal.
Human Rights: International Treaties
Full-text of international treaties covering human rights. Part of the Multilaterals Project at the Fletcher School of Law & Diplomacy, Tufts University.
Encyclopedia of Human Rights –Main Reference JC571 .E67 1996
Comprehensive encyclopedia of issues, countries, people and organizations.
International Encyclopedia of Human Rights: Freedoms, Abuses, and Remedies –Main Reference JC57 .M3243 2000
Description of key concepts and organizations, biographies, and documents.
A Dictionary of Human Rights –Main Reference K3239.3 .R67 2004
Human Rights Violations –Main Reference JC571 .H783 2003
Surveys major abuses of human rights from 1903 – 2001. Includes bibliographies.
A Handbook of International Human Rights Terminology –Main Reference K3239.6 .C66 2004
Use the AUC Library’s Guide to Statistical Sources to locate additional statistical data.
Amnesty International Report: the State of the World's Human Rights
Print version: Main Library & Main Reference JC571 .A44a
Human Rights Watch World Report
Summarizes conditions in over 60 countries including Egypt. Print version: Main Reference & Main Library JC571 .H785
Freedom in the World: the Annual Survey of Political Rights and Civil Liberties –Main Reference JC571 .F66
Survey of 192 countries and 14 territories. Provides an evaluation of the state of global freedom as experienced by individuals. Includes tables and ratings.
BUBL Link: Human Rights
Provides access to country reports organized by continent: Europe, Asia, Africa, North and Central America, South America, Australia and the Pacific.
Human Rights Watch
Arab Organization for Human Rights
The Egyptian Organization for Human Rights
International Federation of Human Rights
United Nations: High Commissioner for Human Rights
European Court of Human RightsInternational Human Rights Law program