Journalism and Mass Communication

Finding Articles | Background Information | Facts & Figures | People & Organizations | AUC Departments & Resources | Course Guide

Finding Articles

Note: Most databases are restricted for use by Authorized AUC Users. Click here for information about off-campus access.

Communication & Mass Media Complete
Citation coverage of over 40,000 articles related to mass media and communication studies published in over 60 research journals, as well as major journalism reviews, recent encyclopedias, and handbooks.

Academic Search Premier
Extensive multi-disciplinary database indexing over 8,000 general and peer-reviewed publications. Engineering and computing topics are included.

Alternative Press Archive
Indexes alternative/radical periodicals, magazines and newspapers from 1969-1990.

CQ Public Affairs Collection
Public policy content organized by 22 key topics, drawing on CQ's historic documents and primary source materials, statistical overviews, directory contact information, and in-depth reporting on current affairs.

CQ Researcher
Comprehensive essays by journalists on controversial issues; mainly issues in the United States. 1991 - present.

Journalism and Mass Communication Abstracts (free Web access)
Access to abstracts of dissertations and theses accepted for graduate degrees Useful for identifying research topics.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe *On-Campus Use Only
Extensive collection of articles from newspapers around the world.

TBS: Transnational Broadcasting Studies
Online journal covering issues of media in the Arab world. Published by the Adham Center, AUC.

ZAD (Arabic Press Index)
Full text articles from more than 700 Arabic newspapers and magazines. 1998 -

Newspapers:

Al-Ahram Weekly (searchable, online edition)
Egyptian newspapers available in AUC Library’s ground floor periodical collection
Kidon Media Link (access newspapers worldwide by country or language)

Newswires & News Networks:

ABC News
AFP: Agence France Presse
Associated Press(AP)
BBC News
CBS News
CNN: Cable News Network
Fox News
Guardian Unlimited
(Guardian, Observer and Guardian Weekly newspapers)
Al-Jazeera
MSNBC
Reuters News Online

Online Publications of Interest to Journalists:

AJR: American Journalism Review
Columbia Journalism Review
Communicator (targeted at news directors, reporters, anchors & producers at radio & television stations)
Digital Journalist (targeted at photojournalists)
Editor & Publisher: Information Authority for the Newspaper Industry
Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication (published by USC Annenberg)
Journal of Electronic Publishing (published by University of Michigan Press)
Nieman Reports (published by Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard University)
OJR: Online Journalism Review
Web Journal of Mass Communication Research (published by EW Scripps School for Journalism)

back to top

Background Information

Dictionary of Media and Communication Studies –Main Reference P87.5 .W38 2003

Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications –Main Reference P87.5 .E532 2003

Power Reporting: Resources for Journalists

Webster’s New World Dictionary of Media and Communications –Main Reference BP87.5 .W45 1996

World Press Encyclopedia: a Survey of Press Systems Worldwide –Main Reference PN4728 .Q53 2003

Style Guides:

AP Stylebook Online Edition *On-Campus Use Only

Associated Press Stylebook and Briefing on Media Law –Main Reference PN4783 .A83 2004

Broadcast News Writing Stylebook –Main Reference PN4784 .B75 P36 2002

The Editor’s Toolbox –Main Reference PN4778 R92 2001

back to top

Facts & Figures

Editor & Publisher International Yearbook –Main Reference PN4700 .E42
Annual data on the newspaper industry.

Middle East and Africa Market & Mediafact –Main Reference P92 .M53 2000
Market surveys and other statistics for popular culture and mass media.

Pew Research Center
Access survey data from "An independent opinion research group that studies attitudes toward the press, politics and public policy issues.”

People & Organizations

Association of Young Journalists

Broadcast Education Association

Committee to Protect Journalists
Independent, non-profit organization dedicated to defending press freedom worldwide.

Institude for War ans Peace Reporting (IWPR)

International Press Institute (IPI)
Independent, non-profit organization dedicated to defending press freedom worldwide.

International Center for Journalists (ICFJ)
Independent, nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the quality of journalism worldwide, especially in countries with little or no tradition of an independent press.

International Federation of Journalists (IFJ )Promotes international action to defend press freedom and social justice through strong, free and independent trade unions of journalists.

Journalism.org
Online home of the Project for Excellence in Journalism and the Committee of Concerned Journalists.

Pew Research Center
Access survey data from "An independent opinion research group that studies attitudes toward the press, politics and public policy issues.”

Poynter Institute
Leading think tank and resource center for journalists, future journalists, and teachers of journalists worldwide.

Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press
Reporteurs sans Frontieres

Reporters without Border
Reporters sans Frontieres

World Press Photo

back to top

AUC Departments & Resources

AUC Adham Center for Television Journalism

List of AUC Publications

 

back to top