Middle East Studies

Finding Articles | Background Information | Facts & Figures | People & Organizations | AUC Departments & Resources | Further Research

Finding Articles

Note: Most databases are restricted for use by Authorized AUC Users. Click here for information about off-campus access.

Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917 - 1970
Provides a wide range of original source material, from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1.

Index Islamicus
Covers worldwide literature in European languages on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. 1906 – present.

Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies (MECAS)
Covers research, policy, and scholarly discourse in the following fields: politics, economics, international relations, cultural heritage, arts and humanities, society and social welfare, anthropology, religion, history and archaeology. 1900 and earlier – present.

The Middle East. Abstracts and Index –Ground Floor Indexes DS41. M44
Index of English language materials in the Humanities and Social Sciences relating to the Middle East. 1978 to present.

ZAD (Arabic Press Index)
Full text of Arabic newspapers and magazines. 1998 – present.

JSTOR
Full text of important scholarly journals, excluding those from the last 2-5 years.
List of journals in Middle East Studies

CIAO (Columbia Affairs International Online) *On-Campus Use Only
A full text, comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs.

PAIS International

Covers issues such as public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. 1937 – present.

Sociological Abstracts
Covers latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. 1963 - present.

Academic Search Premier
Covers the social sciences, humanities, education and most other major fields of academic study. Some full text. 1965 – present.

History E-Books
List of Middle East, General/Multiperiod | List of Middle East, 632 – 1918 | List of Middle East, 1918 – present

back to top

Background Information

Encyclopaedia of Islam Online
Important reference work in English on all Islamic subjects. Print version: Main Library, Main Reference, SPCL Reference DS35.53 .E532a 1986

Encyclopedia of the Qur'an Online
Another important English language work that covers all aspects of the world of Islam. Print Version: Main Reference BP133.E53X2001

The Oxford Dictionary of Islam
Focuses primarily on the 19th and 20th centuries. Print version: Main Reference BP40 .095 2003

Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917 - 1970
Provides a wide range of original source material, from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World –Main Reference BP40 .E525 2004

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa --Main Reference DS43 .E53 2004
Comprehensive coverage from 1800 - present. Includes bibliographies.

A Political and Economic Dictionary of the Middle East --Main Reference DS63 .S43 2004

Historical Dictionary of Egypt –Main Reference DT75 .G65 2003
Covers the modern period, 1760 - present.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World –Main Reference, SPCL Reference DS35.53 .095 1995

Cambridge History of Islam --Main Reference DS35.6 .C3 1970

Companion Encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African Film
Print version: Main Reference PN1993.5 .A65 C66 2001

back to top

Facts & Figures

CAPMAS *Library Use Only --Ask at Reference Desk
Statistics collected by CAPMAS (largest statistical organization in the Middle East) in fields such as economics, trade, agriculture, population, etc. Print version: Main Reference Cupboard HA 4686 .A1 K57

The Middle East and North Africa (Europa World Plus)
General survey of the region and individual countries. Print version: Main Reference DS49.5; Latest edition in Main Reference Cupboard.

Al-Tashriat Al-Misriyah (Egyptian Legislation) *Library Use Only --Ask at Reference Desk
Laws and legislation of Egypt since 1828 in Arabic.

Historical Atlas of the Middle East –Main Reference G2206 .S1 F7 1993
113 maps with commentaries covering the period from earliest historical times until 1993. Includes select bibliography.

An Historical Atlas of Islam –Main Reference, SPCL Reference G1786 .S1 H6 2002
Large maps covering the period from early Islam to the 19th century.

Islamic Finance Information Service (IFIS) *On-Campus Use Only
Market data, news, analyst reports, and company profiles of Sharia compliant financial industry participants.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Reports & Profiles
Analysis and forecasts of the political, economic, and business environment. 1996 - present.

People & Organizations

Biographical Dictionary of Modern Egypt –Main Reference DT97 .G65 2000b

Political Leaders of the Contemporary Middle East and North Africa: A Biographical Dictionary –Main Reference DS61.5 .P65 1990

Middle East Studies Association of America

back to top

AUC Departments & Resources

Middle East Studies Program

Further Research

Naguib Mahfouz: a Select Bibliography

Monasteries and Monastic Life in Egypt: an Annotated Bibliography Adobe Acrobat Document Adobe Acrobat Document 207 KB

Nubia and the Nubian People: an Annotated Bibliography Adobe Acrobat Document Adobe Acrobat Document 207 KB

back to top