Political Science

Finding Articles | Background Information | Facts & Figures | People & Organizations | AUC Departments & Resources | Course Guides

Finding Articles

Note: Most databases are restricted for use by Authorized AUC Users. Click here for information about off-campus access.

CIAO – Columbia International Affairs Online *On-Campus Use Only
Comprehensive source for research of issues in international affairs. Includes working papers from research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, journals and policy briefs.

CQ’s Public Affairs Collection
Public policy content organized by 22 key topics. Historic documents, treaties, and other primary source materials. Statistical overviews, directory contact information, and in-depth reporting on current affairs.

Human Rights Internet
Comprehensive collection of human rights material derived from independent, grassroots NGOs around the globe. NOTE: If prompted for a password, please ask at the Main Library Reference Desk.

International Political Science Abstracts
Database of the International Political Science Association. Contains abstracts of political science articles published in scholarly journals and yearbooks worldwide.

PAIS International
Multi-lingual database indexing public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. Includes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, directories, serials, as well as reports of public, intergovernmental, and private organizations.

Richard Kimber’s Political Science Resources
Gateway to significant online resources relevant to the study of politics and government.

Working Paper Sites of Political Science
Provides access to working papers that have been posted online by political science professors and departments.

JSTOR
Full text of important scholarly journals, excluding those from the last 2-5 years.

Academic Search Premier
Extensive multi-disciplinary database indexing over 8,000 general and peer-reviewed publications.

back to top

Background Information (including treaties, legal documents, and other primary sources)

Avalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy

CQ Electronic Encyclopedia of American Government
Excellent resource for facts about United States Congress, Presidency, Supreme Court, and the U.S. election process. Contains over 1,200 articles and more than 600 illustrations.

CQ’s Public Affairs Collection
Public policy content organized by 22 key topics. Historic documents, treaties, and other primary source materials. Statistical overviews, directory contact information, and in-depth reporting on current affairs.

ODS: Official Documents of the UN
Searchable collection of full text documents from the United Nations. 1993-present.

Oxford Reference Online: Politics and Social Sciences
Online dictionaries and reference books from Oxford University Press.

Peace Agreements: Digital Collection from the Jeanette Rankin Library Program
Contains full text of agreements signed by the major contending parties ending inter- and intra-state conflicts worldwide since 1989.

Truth Commissions: Digital Collection from the Jeanette Rankin Library Program
Contains full text of the decrees establishing truth commissions and similar bodies of inquiry worldwide, and the reports issued by such groups.

United Nations Treaty Collection
Includes three databases: Status of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General; the United Nations Treaty Series, and the Depository Notifications of the Secretary-General Also contains texts of recently deposited multilateral treaties (which have not yet been published), photographs of signature ceremonies, and titles in the UN official languages.

Continuum Political Encyclopedia of the Middle East –Main Reference DS62.8 .P64 2002

Dictionary of Modern Politics–Main Reference JA61 .R63 2002

Dictionary, Parliamentary and Political Terms: English-Arabic–Main Reference JA61.A875 1997

Encyclopedia of Government and Politics–Main Reference JA61 .C66 2004

Oxford Companion to Politics of the World–Main Reference JA61 .O95 2001

Political Philosophy: Theories, Thinkers, and Concepts –Main Reference JA71 P6226 2001

World Encyclopedia of Parliaments and Legislatures –Main Reference JF511 .W67 1998

back to top

Facts & Figures

CQ’s Public Affairs Collection
Public policy content organized by 22 key topics. Historic documents, treaties, and other primary source materials. Statistical overviews, directory contact information, and in-depth reporting on current affairs.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Reports and Profiles
Provides objective and timely analysis and forecasts of the political, economic, and business environment of selected countries in Africa and the Middle East.

Europa World Plus
Online version of the Europa World Year Book. Provides political and economic information for more than 250 countries and territories.

People & Organizations

American Political Science Association
Founded in 1903, APSA is the leading professional organization for the study of political science and serves more than 15,000 members in over 80 countries.

International Political Science Association (IPSA)
Founded under the auspices of UNESCO in 1949, IPSA is an international scholarly association. Its objective is to promote the advancement of political science through the collaboration of scholars throughout the world.

back to top

AUC Departments & Resources

Political Science

Course Guides

Pol Sci 201

Pol Sci 320: Introduction to International Relations

Pol Sci 405: International Politics of the Middle East

back to top