Forced Migration and Refugee Studies

Finding Articles | Background Information | Facts & Figures | People & Organizations | FMRS Grey Files Collection | AUC Departments & Resources | Palestinian Refugees

Finding Articles

Note: Most databases are restricted for use by Authorized AUC Users. Click here for information about off-campus access.

Forced Migration Online
A full text, searchable catalog including geographic and thematic resource guides.

Human Rights Internet
Comprehensive collection of human rights material derived from independent, grassroots NGOs around the globe. NOTE: If prompted for a password, please ask at the Main Library Reference Desk.

PAIS International
Multi-lingual database indexing public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.

CIAO – Columbia International Affairs Online *On-Campus Use Only
Comprehensive source for research of issues in international affairs. Includes working papers from research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, conference proceedings, books, journals and policy briefs.

JSTOR
Full text of important scholarly journals, excluding those from the last 2-5 years.

Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe *On-Campus Use Only
Extensive collection of articles from newspapers around the world.

Forced Migration Review
The in-house journal of the Refugee Studies Centre, Queen Elizabeth House, University of Oxford.

Sussex Centre for Migration Research
Working papers and information about research projects currently being conducted.

The Inter-University Committee on International Migration
Working papers and reports in the field of forced migration.

Academic Search Premier
Extensive multi-disciplinary database indexing over 8,000 general and peer-reviewed publications.

back to top

Background Information

World Refugee
Recent news articles about refugees and forced migration.

Global IDP Project
In-depth information about internally displaced persons (IDPs) worldwide sorted by country, frequent news alerts about IDP issues, and The United Nations Guiding Principles on Internal Displacement.

World Refugee Survey 2005
Includes statistics and country reports. Print version: Main Library, Main Reference HV640.W63

Encyclopedia of the Stateless Nations: Ethnic and National Groups Around the World –Main Reference D860 .M56 2002

The State of the World's Refugees, 2000: Fifty Years of Humanitarian Action –Main Reference K3230 .R45 O45 2000

Historical Dictionary of Refugee and Disaster Relief Organizations –Main Reference HV640 .G66 1994

back to top

Facts & Figures

UNHCR Statistics
Data and reports from the UN Refugee Agency.

World Refugee Survey 2005
Includes statistics and country reports. Print version: Main Library, Main Reference HV640.W63.

The University of Michigan Law School Refugee Case Law Site
A source of refugee case law.

International Organization for Migration (IOM)
Information about counter-trafficking and migration research. Includes World Migration Report 2005.

Migration Policy Institute (MPI)
Publications including information and statistics about migration patterns.

Sphere Project
Detailed information on the right to humanitarian assistance.

USCR: US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants

Information on refugee conditions by country and documents on a variety of refugee related issues (can be searched by keyword).

People & Organizations

UN High Commission for Refugees
News, country of origin information and the UNHCR mandate and policies.

Refugee Net
Resources on education, language, health, and reception of refugees.

Psychosocial Working Group
Links to literature on psychosocial issues in refugee studies.

Reproductive Health for Refugees (RHR) Consortium
Information on refugee reproductive health topics.

Sphere Project
Detailed information on the right to humanitarian assistance.

The Cultural Orientation Project
Contains information and for refugees resettled in the United States.

back to top

FMRS Grey Files Collection

The grey files are searchable through the AUC Library's Catalog and the collection can be accessed in Wallace Annex between 9 am and 3 pm, Sunday-Thursday.

The FMRS Grey Files Collection contains documents on refugees and refugee-related topics, including conventions and workshops, primary source documents, working papers, theses, and journal articles not available elsewhere in the library’s collection.

The collection is searchable with both Library of Congress and International Thesaurus of Refugee Terminology subject headings, and is catalogued according to the British Refugee Council Classification scheme.

AUC Departments and Resources

Forced Migration & Refugee Studies Department
Includes Annual Reports, Working Papers and Research Reports.

International Human Rights Law

Student Action for Refugees (STAR)

Cairo to Camps

back to top

Palestinian Refugees

Palestinian Refugee Research Net
Background material on refugees, research projects, internet resources, workshops and dialogues since 1997.

Badil Center
Information on the campaign for the defense of Palestinian Refugee rights, links to its quarterly magazine, Al Majdal.

FAFO-The Refugee Working Group Web Site
Information on publications and research conducted on Palestinian Refugees (some in full text), with inventory of research conducted since 1991.

Palestinian Diaspora and Refugee Center-SHAML
Facts and figures on refugees registered with UNRWA.

UNHCR- Information on Palestinian Territories
Country Reports, legal documents and current news articles about Palestinian territories.

UN Relief and Working Agency -UNRWA
Background info on UNRWA, programs, news reports, and visual resources.

Israel/Palestine Center for Research and Information (IPCRI)
Information about their main projects, including the Peace Education Program, Environmental Mediations Service and other environmental programs.

back to top