Sociology

Finding Articles | Background Information | Facts & Figures | People & Organizations | AUC Departments & Resources

Finding Articles

Note: Most databases are restricted for use by Authorized AUC Users. Click here for information about off-campus access.

Sociological Abstracts
Latest research in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Contains citations and abstracts for articles from US and international journals as well as conference papers, books, and dissertations.

Academic Search Premier
Extensive multi-disciplinary database indexing over 8,000 general and peer-reviewed publications.

CQ Researcher
In-depth analysis reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals for Sociology
Provides free, full text access to online scholarly and scientific journals.

Human Rights Internet
Comprehensive collection of human rights material derived from independent, grassroots NGOs around the globe. NOTE: If prompted for a password, please ask at the Main Library Reference Desk.

JSTOR
Full text of important scholarly journals, excluding those from the last 2-5 years.

PAIS International
Multi-lingual international database indexing public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general.

Project Muse
Over 200 full-text scholarly journals on humanities, social sciences and arts. Some sociology titles are included.

PsycInfo
Covers the academic, research and practice literature from over 45 countries in more than 30 languages. Indexes journals, dissertations, books, technical reports, and other documents. Includes relevant materials from related disciplines such as the social sciences.

WWW Virtual Library: Sociology, Electronic Journals and Newsletters

back to top

Background Information

Alliance for Lifelong Learning: Sociology
Academic web sites compiled by Oxford, Yale, and Stanford.

Encyclopedia of Community: from Village to Virtual World –Main Reference HM756 .E53 2003

Encyclopedia of Social Theory –Main Reference HM425 .E47 2005

Encyclopedia of Sociology –Main Reference HM425 .E5 2000

Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures: Cities and Cultures Around the World –Main Reference HT108.5 .E53 2002

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences –Main Reference H41 .I58 2001

Social Science Information Gateway: Sociology

back to top

Facts & Figures

Use the AUC Library’s Guide to Statistical Sources to locate additional statistical data.

Human Development Report –Main Reference Cupboard HD72 .H85

Arab Human Development Report –Main Reference Cupboard HN766 .A85 A72

Egypt: Human Development Report –Main Reference Cupboard HC830 .A1 E5

People & Organizations

American Sociological Association

International Sociological Association

Society for Applied Sociology

back to top

AUC Departments & Resources

Sociology Department

Social Research Center (SRC) Library

back to top