Statistics

General | Development | National Accounts | Trade and Marketing | Egypt and Middle East | People and Organizations

General

These sources provide country profiles of demographic, economic, social, political, and development statistics.

Europa World Plus
Online version of the Europa World Year Book. Provides political and economic information for more than 250 countries and territories.

The Statesman’s Yearbook: the Politics, Cultures, and Economies of the World –Main Reference JA51 .S7

Statistical Yearbook (United Nations) –Main Reference HA12.5 .U63
Most current yearbook is supplemented by: Monthly Bulletin of Statistics - Ground floor periodicals: HC57 .U6

back to top

Development

These sources provide statistics related to issues of development: Demographic; Social Indicators (education, employment, income & poverty, literacy, health factors); Economic Indicators (agricultural/industrial production, imports & exports, debt management); Infrastructure (transportation, communication, media); Environmental

Note: Unless otherwise indicated, links are to homepages of organizations, not to specific publications.

African Development Indicators –Main Reference HC800 .A1 A356

African Development Report (World Bank) –Main Reference HC800 .A1 A354
Analysis material – companion volume to African Development Indicators

Global Development Finance (World Bank) –Main Reference HJ8899 .W672
Volume 1: Analysis and summary tables; Volume 2: Summary and country tables

Human Development Report (UNDP) –Main Reference Cupboard HD72 .H85
Access: Online Editions of Development Reports

Arab Human Development Report (UNDP) –Main Reference Cupboard HN766 .A85 A72
Access: Online Editions of Development Reports

Egypt Human Development Report (UNDP) –Main Reference Cupboard HC830 .A1 E5
Access: Online Editions of Development Reports

World Development Indicators (World Bank) –Main Reference HD82 W67x
Indicators listed with country-by-country list for each.

World Development Report (World Bank) –Main Reference Cupboard HC59.7 W659
Analysis material – companion volume to World Development Indicators.

World Economic and Social Survey: Trends and Policies in the World Economy (United Nations Dept of Economic & Social Affairs) –Main Reference HC59 .A169

back to top

National Accounts

These sources include statistics concerning a nation’s main economic variables such as gross national product, consumption data, investments, and other data used for evaluating a country’s economic performance.

Note: Unless otherwise indicated, links are to homepages of organizations, not to specific publications.

International Financial Statistics Yearbook (International Monetary Fund) –Main Reference Cupboard HG3881 .I626
Part 1: World and regional aggregates; Part 2: Country-by-country profiles

Government Finance Statistics Yearbook (International Monetary Fund) –Main Reference HJ101 .G68
Includes government budget information.

National Accounts Statistics (United Nations) –Main Reference HC79 .I5 U53
Country-by-country profiles

Trade and Marketing

These sources provide statistics concerning a nation’s dealing with the outside world. Import, export, balance of payments, currency exchange, trade agreements, market analysis.

Note: Unless otherwise indicated, links are to homepages of organizations, not to specific publications.

General Sources:

Arab World Competitiveness Report (World Economic Forum) –Main Reference Cupboard HC498 .A7195
Part 1: “Chapters” (essays); Part 2: Country Profiles (includes export data)

Balance of Payments Statistics Yearbook (International Monetary Fund) –Main Reference HF1014 .I5
Volume 1: Country tables; Volume 2: World / regional tables

Direction of Trade Statistics Yearbook (International Monetary Fund) –Main Reference HF91 .I65
World & Regional Tables and Country Tables: value of imports and exports, major trading partners.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Reports and Profiles
Economic and political data for Egypt and other countries of the Middle East.

Euromonitor: International Marketing Data & Statistics –Main Reference HF42 .I56
Country profiles: Economic, demographic, and social statistics of special interest to marketing.

Euromonitor: Consumer Middle East –Main Reference Cupboard HC415.15 .A1 C65

Global Competitiveness Report (World Economic Forum) –Main Reference HF1414 .G559

International Trade Statistics Yearbook (United Nations) –Main Reference HF91 .U473
Volume 1: by country; Volume 2: by commodity. Good source of detailed import/export data. Includes Egypt.

UNCTAD Commodity Yearbook (UN Conference on Trade and Development) –Main Reference Cupboard HF1040 .Y42
Provides data “at the world, regional and country levels for production, trade and consumption in selected agricultural primary commodities and minerals, ores and metals.”

UNCTAD Handbook of Statistics (UN Conference on Trade & Development) –Main Reference Cupboard HF1016 .U54a
Statistical data relevant to the analysis of international trade, investment and development.

Import / Exports:

UNCTAD Commodity Yearbook (UN Conference on Trade and Development) –Main Reference Cupboard HF1040 .Y42
Provides data “at the world, regional and country levels for production, trade and consumption in selected agricultural primary commodities and minerals, ores and metals.”

Direction of Trade Statistics Yearbook (International Monetary Fund) –Main Reference HF91 .I65
World & Regional Tables and Country Tables: value of imports and exports, major trading partners.

International Trade Statistics Yearbook (United Nations) –Main Reference HF91 .U473
Volume 1: by country; Volume 2: by commodity. Good source of detailed import/export data. Includes Egypt.

back to top

Egypt and Middle East

Note: Unless otherwise indicated, links are to homepages of organizations, not to specific publications.

Annual Report – Central Bank of Egypt –Main Reference Cupboard HG3386 .A7 B35c

Annual Report on Egyptian Economy Annual Report –Main Reference HC830 .A1 E39

Arab Human Development Report –Main Reference Cupboard HG3386 .A7 B35c

Arab World Competitiveness Report (World Economic Forum) –Main Reference Cupboard HC498 .A7195
Part 1: “Chapters” (essays); Part 2: Country Profiles (includes export data)

Business Monitor International: Egypt Quarterly Forecast Report –Main Reference Cupboard HC830 .E49
Report on political risk, economic performance & outlook, and key economic sectors.

CAPMAS *Library Use Only --Ask at Reference Desk
Statistics collected by CAPMAS (largest statistical organization in the Middle East) in fields such as economics, trade, agriculture, population, etc. Print version: Main Reference Cupboard HA4686 .A1 K57

Description of Egypt in Figures [Wasf Misr bi-al-ma‘lumat] –Main Reference Cupboard HA4686 .A26
In Arabic.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) Country Reports and Profiles
Economic and political data for Egypt and other countries of the Middle East.

Egypt Almanac: Encyclopedia of Modern Egypt –Main Reference Cupboard DT43 .E39

Egypt Business Forecast Report (Business Monitor International) –Main Reference Cupboard HC830 .E49

Egypt Human Development Database (United Nations Development Program)

Egypt Human Development Report (UNDP) –Main Reference Cupboard HC830 .A1 E5
Access: Online Editions of Development Reports

Euromonitor: Consumer Middle East –Main Reference Cupboard HC415.15 .A1 C65

External Trade Bulletin of the ESCWA Region (ESCWA - United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia) –Main Reference HF3760.8 .Z5 U7x
English and Arabic text.

Kompass Egypt: Financial Yearbook –Main Reference Cupboard HG5836 .A2 K6
Includes some industry analyses and economic overviews.

Men and Women in Egypt: A Statistical Portrait (ESCWA - United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia) –Main Reference Cupboard HQ1793 .W66 2003
ESCWA statistical portraits are also available for the men & women of Algeria, Lebanon, Syria, Tunisia, and Yemen.

The Middle East and North Africa (Europa World Plus)
General survey of the region and individual countries. Print version: Main Reference DS49.5; Latest edition in Main Reference Cupboard.

IDSC Information and Decision Support Center: Egypt’s Information Portal
A site providing access to extensive statistical data, surveys, and reports concerning Egyptian economic and social issues. Arabic version: http://www.idsc.gov.eg/

Additional Resources in Arabic Adobe Acrobat Document Adobe Acrobat Document 207 KB

People and Organizations

American Chamber of Commerce in Egypt

Central Bank of Egypt

Euromonitor

ESCWA (UN Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia)

International Monetary Fund

United Nations Conference on Trade and Development

World Bank

World Economic Forum

back to top